7 of my travel tips for any where you are going

Travel has always been one of my favorite things to do.  I was the first of my siblings to go to Europe – not amazing but I am also the youngest.

There has always been something magical about seeing a totally different place, the people, architecture and the nature surrounding it all.  I love old buildings and art so Europe has always been appealing to me.  I tell people I am a back alley person as there is something about doing down an alley way and walking into an incredible square with amazing buildings on all sides. So I thought I’d share some of my tips for travelling.

1.      First thing is what do you like to do? Eat? Hike? Museums?  Is there a city you have always wanted to explore? I love a big city – the different neighborhoods, art galleries, theatre and restaurants.  Also look for organized walking tours if that is your thing.  We did one in Ireland (below) where they gave us a map and took care of getting our bags to the next destination. The rest was on us. There are bus tours to consider if you want a more organized, taken care of experience.

2.      If you want to do a specific tour your best bet is to book ahead. We hiked The Giants Causeway and booked ahead of time to make sure we had it organized before we went. Plus it gave us a booked block to work around.

3.      I use Trip Advisor to check out reviews of places and hotels.  They have travellers’ pictures to check out – that is where you can really see what the place looks like. They also have lists of tops things to do and restaurants in pretty well any place you want to head to.  Plus, you could do your own reviews on hotels, restaurants and tourist attractions. Just make sure you jot down details and feelings rights away.  FYI you could also review places in your own city for Trip Advisor!

4.      Airlines – well what to say only check them all out. If you don’t have to book your vacation months in advance see if there are any seat sales comings up to places you want to visit.

5.      Last vacation we used Airbnb and we enjoyed it. We stayed in Dublin for four nights and it was fantastic to come home to an apartment. We picked up some groceries so could have coffee in the morning while getting ready.  It was also nice to crash in a living room at the end of the day.  For me it felt like I was more immersed while staying in Dublin.  So if you are staying somewhere for more than a few nights think about getting an apartment.

6.      If you don’t like to book too much ahead your first stop after you check in should be the local tourist bureau.  Some day trips only leave once or twice a week and you don’t want to miss it just because you didn’t get there until a few days into your stay.

7.      Most importantly be open to new experiences and don’t compare anywhere to home.  Every place has it own unique features.  We are travelling to gain experiences – fine if it makes you appreciate home more. You can acknowledge that when you get back.  Just enjoy where you are.

You can always start now !

11 thoughts on “7 of my travel tips for any where you are going

  1. Aleksandra says:

    Whenever I read about this place “Europe” I always get this impression of it being seen as really interesting and special and I should absolutely go there. It always takes me a few seconds before I realise this is the Europe that I live in! It is a nice place for sure but living here is so different to travelling.

    I kind of lost my point as I rambled there somewhat. These tips are really good, especially to be open to all experiences: some of my best experiences have been from those that I have been sceptical about at first. Just goes to show you cannot pre-judge a thing

    Like

    1. Amelia says:

      We do seem to take home for granted. I’m in sitting in Atlantic Canada so very different from Europe, but still beautiful. Travel for me has always been a bit about pushing my boundaries. My big thing is don’t compare anywhere to home – everywhere is unique. Enjoy! and I’m jealous at what you have at your door step!

      Like

    1. Amelia says:

      Happy if it was helpful. Check comment from An Historian about town also – she mentioned checking public holidays in place you are traveling to. Also make sure you check banking hours and store hours and work around them! Have a great holiday this summer!!!

      Like

  2. anhistorianabouttown says:

    Great post! My other tip is to check local holidays. I had to remind everyone visiting me in Dublin that their public holidays are different than ours, which may affect what you want to do. In Berlin, shops are closed on Sundays save for a few particular days- I wanted to go to the KaDeWe, so I made sure to be there on a weekend it was open. Cheers!!

    Like

    1. Amelia says:

      Great recommendation – yes to checking public holidays and even events the city might be having you might be interested in. Now that I have that cap on I am also thinking check banking hours and store hours and work around that! Was in Dublin last August and loved it. Definitely on my list to go back. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.