Is this the end of a era?

My china pattern

Back story, when I was 16 my mother and sister thought it was time for me to pick out a china pattern. I picked out a few, but couldn’t settle on one. Finally they picked it “First Love” see above. It is actually a lovely pattern, silver rimmed, faint delicate flowers.

Decades later I have never used the dishes. Ever. I have packed them multi times to move. They always end up in the top kitchen cabinets. You know the ones most of us need a chair to reach. They sit there. Looking lovely. Years past. Decades past. I am now at the point, the last few years, i want to purge. I want to get rid of items that are not me. Or maybe never were me.

A few months ago, I went through my dresser and cleared the top off of jewelry. I got rid of a bag full. It wasn’t like the stuff wasn’t nice. It wasn’t me. I’m done saving items I know I won’t wear. My dresser is now clear and calm. With only a few items on it that I actually use. I’m doing this for clothes and knick-knacks also.

The China was the largest item I have carried over the years. So finally pictures taken, plates measured, research what other China was selling for, post to sell. I know the majority of people don’t want China anymore. Most patterns you can’t put in the dishwasher (unless you want to ruin it). First Love above has silver trim around it which would come off in the dishwater. I’m more concerned about ruining my dishwasher.

A lady called for two mugs and ended up purchasing plates, salt & pepper, cream and sugar. She collects China so I know it is going to a good home. Now I’m looking at it and thinking maybe I should save one piece for me. A reminder of what I received for Christmas for years. It won’t be a mug. As they are too small and I can only get one finger in. Thinking a small plate to have my toast on the weekends. That made me think why didn’t I pull a few items out to use before. Like toast on Sunday. Hmmm……

Overall it feels good creating space. I don’t want to be someone that leaves a houseful of items no one wants and I haven’t used in decades. I’m creating space and becoming lighter. I only want to bring in items that resonate with me now. Create my space that reflex me.

Do you have any items you have held onto for years just because? That hold memories and also dust. Is it time to let go? Deep breath. You will know when it is time – it might not be yet. That is okay. Now to take a small plate down for toast next weekend.

PS the lady sent me a picture of her table with the China. It looked lovely.

8 thoughts on “Is this the end of a era?

  1. Elvina Wright says:

    It’s difficult to let go of items, even those which we don’t use, however, it feels good once it’s done.

    I recently purged items that I’ve been holding onto for years for various reasons. It felt good to create a lighter space and to focus on items that I want in my space.

    Like

  2. Darlene says:

    It was the same for me except is was silverware. I had a set of silver plate, given to me over the years as gifts, called “Eternal Love” I believe, which I didn’t use and had to clean every 6 months. So I finally took it to a China and Silverware consignment store and sold it. I only kept two coffee spoons. My China, “Platinum Band”, I use a lot and even moved it to Spain as I love it.

    Like

  3. msomerville2014 says:

    Yes, good for you. I know it was hard for me too. There were some treasures I got rid of many years ago. A beautiful and heavy cut glass punch bowl my mother got for me. In all the years since I have felt bad, but not come up with one occasion when I could have used it. I went through a similar process 6 years ago when I retired a nd we moved into the smallest house we have ever lived in. My rationale then was that I had enjoyed those things for 30 years, it was someone else’s turn. i did keep a very few pieces for sentimental reasons, but I have no place to display them. I forced myself to do the same with old family pictures that I could not identify. Great post, important encouragement. I hope others who need this encouragement will see the wisdom,, hard won that you offer. blessings, Michele

    Like

    1. You Can Always Start Now says:

      Thank you. I did the same things with photos.went through and tossed or gave to sibilings ones I thought they would like. At this stage I want to look around and see items that make me smile. I’m enjoying having my toast on my China plate and think now why didn’t I do this earlier. Always seem to have a bag for goodwill going. Take care.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.